Mission of security

So the first thing done is creating an encrypted drive. Using BitLocker on win 7.

I created a password that is unique, although shared by one unconnected service on the webinet, and stored the key restoration as a file, encrypted the key restoration file as a zip, and uploaded it to a secured cloud storage.
 
Apparently [citation needed-wiki] there is no back door to get through to the secured drive, I think it may even have brute force protection, although that can be managed by a sophisticated enough service [like the FBI (MAYBE)].
 
Once this was done, I found that it wasn’t relocking on hibernate, thanks microsoft. So I found this article that describes attaching an event to trigger at sleep activation. I just needed to add this command line. I ended up just doing it on login. It doesn’t work. A batch can be added to the desktop and run as administrator to quickly lock the drive again.
 
The next level of security is backing up my personal notes. I have begun tearing out pages from my notebook and storing them away for now, next I need to digitise and summarise. This would be easier if there is an app that puts pictures straight to evernote! Skitch is the only program I know for this, but it has some overhead when trying to use it.

Leave a comment